Andre Breton- Surrealism

Image

Looking at surrealism I understood the concept of freeing the imagination, however for my piece I chose to express the idea of breaking down barriers and restrictions. The piece involves a few lines of a poem by the surrealist poet Andre Breton. From this I have illustrated his idea. I chose to do the piece in the style quite similar to the Alice in wonderland illustrations, being a surreal piece of writing in itself, so I kept it very simple with just black and white. The image consists of a bird with a birdcage inside it. The line: “The bars are in the cage” suggests something being defeated or rules being broke down. I took a literal approach and I believe the image has this clear meaning.

Andre Breton- Surrealism

One thought on “Andre Breton- Surrealism

Leave a Reply

